Puddle Jumpers

Enjoying life, off the hamster wheel

In Search of the Perfect Fork

Community Silverware pattern "Lady Hamilton" 1932

I’m making jewellery out of silverware these days, and I’ve been doing a little bit of research about silverware patters to I’ll include with the finished pieces.

I was given a partial set of silverware of my Dad’s after he passed away, and I fell in love with it and in my search for cutlery for jewellery, I learned that it’s called “Lady Hamilton” and was manufactured by Community in Oneida, New York from 1932 to 1956. Community changed its name to Oneida, which is a popular and recognizable brand today. In my search, I was able to build a full set of this cutlery of this beautiful pattern.

I was given some spoons to make jewellery out of, which prompted this post.

It’s great to hear how others love this set too. It’s simple and elegant. I came across the following excellent online article about Lady Hamilton’s perfect fork. It’s true! It is a perfect fork, and the knife feels really good in the hand too. A really balanced weight, comfortable and effortless. This history of the style is indicative of a transitional period in history.

I invite you to read the article and enjoy the world of cutlery design.

http://www.gourmet.com/food/gourmetlive/2011/083111/search-for-the-perfect-fork

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2014 by in Main.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 461 other followers

