Puddle Jumpers

Enjoying life, off the hamster wheel

Zuchinni with Nut Miso Gratin and Roasted Tomatoes with Rosemary

I just had to share this little dish I invented by accident; or, rather out of necessity.

I have a couple of HUGE zucchinis from my inlaws’ garden that have to be eaten and a heap of leftover nut mulch after making nut milk (which isn’t really “milk” at all, it’s more like nut “juice,” but I guess it’s called “milk” because if you’re using a jelly strainer bag like I did, you end up “milking” the bag. Besides, “nut milk” sounds much more appetizing than “nut juice,” don’t you agree?)

Anyway…. I wondered what I could do to use up these key ingredients and make a flavourful but easy meal.

What I came up with was, in my humble opinion, delicious! In fact, so much so that I just had to share it with you so you could try a version of your own.

I’ve given it the original and exotic description of Zuchinni with Nut Miso Gratin and Roasted Tomatoes with Rosemary, which is basically what it is. I’m sure it would sound divine in French or Italian, but as I don’t speak either language, this description will have to do.

Here’s a picture of it. My apologies that it’s not a very nice photograph. The next time I make this dish, if I remember, I’ll take a better photo and replace this one. But for now, this one will have to do. At least you’ll get an idea of what it looks like.

Zucchini with Miso Nut Gratin and Roasted Tomatoes with Rosemary

I didn’t measure anything either… oh, except the garlic for the zucchini, I remember using two garlic cloves.  So, the recipe has no measurements. You’ll have to customize it for your own tastes. “Bespoke cuisine” as it were. 🙂

It’s all about experimenting and having fun.

Hang in there…. We’re almost at the good part….

About the nut mix leftovers… I made some almond/oat/coconut/sesame/flaxseed “milk” today, so I had lots of nut leftovers handy. If you make your own nut milk/juice, use those leftovers. If not, you’ll need some other kind of nut/seed mixture. You could make Egyptian dukkah (not to be confused with dukkha – the Sanskrit word for ‘suffering.’)

I’ve posted a recipe for Egyptian Dukkah here, if you’d like to use it.

And now the moment you’ve been waiting for! The zucchini recipe!

Ingrid’s own little recipe – September 2013

Zucchini with Miso & Nut Gratin and Oven Roasted Tomatoes with Rosemary

Slice zucchini into 3/4″ slices and place on baking tray lined with parchment paper. (Parchment paper isn’t necessary, you can grease the tray instead if you want.)

Miso & nut gratin

– roasted nut mix (leftovers from making nut milk); or, use Egyptian Dukkah
– miso paste (I used white miso paste because that’s what I had in the fridge)
– garlic cloves
– lemon juice
– water
– pepper to taste

Place ingredients into food processor and mix. Add water and lemon juice as needed to make smooth, spreadable paste.

Spread onto zucchini rounds, drizzle with olive oil and bake at 350°F until zucchini is done but still firm, and topping is lightly browned

Transfer onto serving dish and top with warm oven roasted tomatoes (recipe below).

Oven roasted tomatoes with garlic and rosemary

Slice firm tomatoes into thick slices and place on baking tray.

Combine ingredients (in amounts to suit taste) either in a food processor or chop finely and mix by hand:

– garlic
– olive oil
– a pinch of salt
– pepper to taste
– fresh rosemary (or whatever other savory herb you have on hand, fresh or dried)

Drizzle onto tomatoes.
Bake at 325°F for an hour or so. Check periodically. They are done when still bright red but obviously “sundried.” If over baked and browning, tomatoes will taste bitter.

Not only are these excellent with the zucchini with nut miso gratin, but are also delicious with a variety of breads, chickpea fritters, pizza, etc.

Bon appetit!

Ingrid

– Happily transforming a puddle of dukkha into a delicious bowl of dukkah

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 461 other followers

