Puddle Jumpers

Enjoying life, off the hamster wheel

Virginia Polytechnic Institute

Sometimes things are closer to home than you might originally think….

My heart goes out to a fellow UBC student who I had the good fortune to work closely with last year in one of my favourite classes. Francine’s mom was Professor Jocelyne Couture-Nowak, whose life was taken along with others’ during the shooting on Monday. I can only imagine the profound loss Francine and her family feels, and I wish her much love and prayer.

Time heals what reason cannot.

Ingrid

2 comments on “Virginia Polytechnic Institute

  1. Pat Estryn
    April 19, 2007

    I want to express my sincerest sympathy to all families that were impacted by the Korean killer. I can’t imagine the numbing grief that will be felt particularly by Moms and Dads of these VT kids.

    Parents work hard to have their children grow, study through school, partake in extracurricular activities, and always ensuring their children will be safe. I am in shock still that this happened to so many children.

    Again, I want to express my most profoundest sympathy to those family members who will have to be without their beloved children.

    Regards,

    Pat Estryn

  2. ingridandneil
    April 19, 2007

    Thank you for your comments. Sadly, it would appear that the gunman’s ethnicity is playing a large part in the blame of his actions. He was, clearly, a tormented person with deep psychological problems. It could have been anyone, regardless of race, colour, creed or gender.

    I want to focus on the healing and support we need to build around the families, friends and communities of those lost, and not in assigning blame based on social prejudice.

    Thank you for reminding me to keep it real.

    Ingrid

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2007 by in Main.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 461 other followers

