Puddle Jumpers

Enjoying life, off the hamster wheel

Burning the Midnight Oil

Mornin’ all! It’s 4:30am, and I just finished an assignment for a class I’m taking. It’s 100-level Computer Science course that I’m taking for a science credit, and yes, it’s a challenge for me! The 20-somethings who surround me are blazing away at the concepts. Meanwhile, yours truly is struggling with trying to make sense of algorithms, binary and hexidecimal numbers and then of course, there’s the transferring of files through a Unix shell on my computer to a remote server. Yes, gasp all you want, I’m actually enjoying embracing my inner geekitude, even if I’m not the star student! I think fate is finally catching up to me. I’m really sorry, what’s-your-name who sat in front of me in grade 9 math that I teased you mercilessly over the electronic gadgets your dad brought back from over seas. And if I threw a spit ball your way, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to hit you. I was aiming for the other guy. Oh, and thanks for your help. You were stellar on the exams. I’d still be there if it wasn’t for you.

So, because I’m a computer looser at heart, but creative to the core, I’ve really had fun using a new open-source image manipulation software called GIMP. That’s a fancy way of saying a program like Photoshop. If you want to play with it, you can download it here. It’s not bad, and the help files are a lot more helpful that Photoshop’s!

Anyway, I thought I’d post my first two images for your viewing pleasure. I hope the first is fairly self-explanatory. It was fun doing a little political parody cartoon. As for the second image, I found this fabulous website called “digital Photography School” (yes, with the first letter in “digital” a lower case “d”) with directions on how to make digital photos look like Lomographs. Go here to view the instructions. So, here are the pictures. Click on them to view them larger in another window. I hope you enjoy looking at them as much as I enjoyed making them.

Have a great day!

Ingrid

Puddler

busharper.jpg

rooster3.jpg

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2007 by in Main.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 461 other followers

